About the AUE

The Association of University Engineers (known as the AUE) was formed in 1970 by a small group of University Engineers who wanted to create a 'networked union of like minded people'. The Association has representation from well over 100 universities throughout the UK and Eire.

The Association's aims are as follows:-



To view a copy of the AUE's Articles of Association, please click here.

Our Members

AUE members shall be "suitably qualified engineers responsible for installation, operation, maintenance or design of engineering services in a University (or a Higher Education Funding Council establishment) and should have a minimum professional qualification of Eng.Tech, approved by the Engineering Council".  The current membership consists of over 500 individuals, drawn from over 100 institutions.



The membership of the AUE is divided and overseen on a regional basis as follows:-

1. Scotland
2. North West (including Northern Ireland, Eire and North Wales)
3. North East
4. Wales
5. West Midlands
6. East Midlands
7. London
8. South East
9. South West

These geographical regions mirror those of AUDE and meetings are regularly held within each of the above areas.